top of page

Angel's Slice Of The Pie #1: Welcome To The New Look Nostalgia Pie!

Updated: Jun 20, 2023


Angel's Slice of the Pie Nostalgia Pie


Oh my gosh!


I'm delighted, elated, excited, jubilated (if that's even a word!) you name it, I'm thrilled to little pie-crust crumbs that the new-look, revamped Nostalgia Pie is finally here. That's right - this blog has gone all Hollywood and undergone a facelift! A lot of caffeine, sleepless nights, and tears have gone into this blog (well OK, I lied about the tears part!) so I hope you really enjoy it.



From Pixabay (Edited by Angel Noire)



So welcome to the new and improved Nostalgia Pie and welcome to the first ever Angel's Slice Of The Pie, a new feature that sees me ramble on about one thing or another, because if there's one thing I'm good at it's rambling - and I don't mean the walking-over-the-hills variety!


For those of you who are new to Nostalgia Pie, a big hi there and hello! You've just entered the portal to the seventies, eighties and nineties - with a bit of sixties and noughties thrown in. I hope you enjoy it and choose to stick around. For those who have previously followed my blog, a big, fat welcome back hug to you! It's great to see you again and I really hope you like the new look blog. The old Nostalgia Pie was becoming a bit, well, stale. As stale as a sausage roll that hadn't been sold over the weekend at a well-known British bakery chain store (and I know this because I've bought a sausage roll that hadn't been sold over the weekend at a well-known British bakery chain store!)


So a revamp was in order and here it is! Many of the same features are still here plus some new ones too. But best of all there is also a forum where all us nostalgia addicts can congregate, share memories, think back to yesterday and get all nostalgic and sentimental. So please subscribe - and enjoy!


So what's in Nostalgia Pie this week?


NEIGHBOURS' BEVERLY RETURNS





Neighbours fans will delight in knowing that Dr. Beverly Marshall will be donning her white coat and stethoscope in Erinsborough once again, twenty nine years after walking out of Ramsay Street. Will Paul be pleased to see his former stepmother again? I don't know about Paul, but I know I can't wait! I love it when a character from back-in-the-day makes a return to a show.



APPLE PIE AND CUSTARD


Apple pie cooling on a wire rack


We're getting all sentimental over apple pie and custard. I don't know who doesn't like apple pie. It's like someone not liking chocolate - is that even possible??? Apple pie is so delicious, and so well-known that many countries around the world have their own version of this great dessert. When you think that many desserts today have to have bold, unusual, elaborate flavours, go through a million stages in the recipe process, and be shaped like a mermaid sitting atop a swan, it's amazing that humble, little old apple pie still manages to beat them all hands down!


My beloved Face the Music CD (Angel Noire)

And let's not forget - today marks twenty five whopping years since New Kids On The Block (or NKOTB as they then wanted to be known as) brought out what is most definitely their most controversial album, Face The Music. I bought the album as soon as it came out and I LOVED it! Face The Music really was phenomenal. From the moment I played it, it was never off my CD player. I played it first thing in the morning when I woke up and last thing at night just before I turned out the lights in my wall-to-wall New Kids-postered room! That time was a period filled with worry, uncertainty and all the other usual teenage angsty-type things - but Face The Music reminds me that there were still some truly awesome things about that time.


And twenty five years later, Face The Music still sounds fab!


Goodness, CD player - I'm really showing my age!


Happy reminiscing


Nostalgia Pie blog
Nosalgia Pie

Photos: YouTube, Pixabay, and Angel's own

Blog graphics: Angel Noire





bottom of page