top of page

A Slice of Pie With... Sir David of Retrohenshire (Pt. i)

Updated: Mar 6


NAME: David Henningham

AGE: 53 (I had to think for a second!)

FROM: London

LIVES: Manchester

OCCUPATION: I develop breakfast cereals and snacks

FAVE PASTIME: Writing (mainly about things from the 70s and 80s)



One of the things I absolutely love about being a nostalgia blogger - apart from sharing happy memories and sending out lots of feel-good vibes - is that I come across loads of fantastic people I may otherwise never have got to know. However I have no good excuse for not having known the affable young chap I'm about to have a slice of pie and a natter with... because he hails from my neck of the woods!


I spent my primary school years in East London where I was born. But I spent my secondary school years and thereafter in the Northwest London town of Harlesden. Quite a few well known names hail from or have set up home in Harlesden: documentary-maker Louis Theroux; singer and producer, Phil Fearon; actress Lenora Crichlow (also a fellow-survivor of the secondary school I had the misfortune of attending. And no, I've never met her!) EastEnders stars Michelle Gayle and Shane Richie (the latter's father used to manage the well-known Steps bar in Harlesden. Excellent training for his role as Alfie Moon we reckon!) and over the years my parents have served a whole host of famous faces over the counter of the shop that they've run for the last forty years or so. I won't name-drop (more than I already have!) but I have to give a shout out to actor Eamonn Walker, Chicago Fire's Chief Wallace Boden, who is an absolute diamond - a real legend, and was a pleasure to serve.



Fellow Harlesdenite, Shane Richie, in EastEnders (He's not the one in the red frock!)


And now another notable name I can add to the list is David Henningham, aka Sir David of Retrohenshire, nostalgia blogger extraordinaire. David and I met very randomly on the blogosphere. It's always a pleasure to meet a fellow nostalgia blogger but I have to say I got the shock of my life when I discovered that he was a fellow Harlesdenite! Anyone who comes from Harlesden or any of the surrounding areas will know that even though it is an inner-city London district, Harlesden has a small-town feel in the sense that many of the locals all know or know of each other (and each other's business!) How strange to think that Sir David and I may have sat next to each other on the bus; stood in the same queue at the local McDonald's; waited for a train on the same platform at Willesden Junction, and I know, I just know that we have people in common. I just have to find out who they are!


And it's fascinating to now know that someone who shares my love of retro and nostalgia only lived a stone's throw away from me. I didn't come across anyone who was into all that nostalgia-nonsense (as some may see it. But not us!) in all my years there. So I'm all the more delighted to have stumbled upon Sir David's blog, Retrohen, which is nothing short of fabulous and it is definitely one of my favourite blogs. I always look forward to new posts written by Sir David because you're guaranteed an entertaining read - not to mention a few chuckles! If you haven't checked it out already, make sure you do. You won't be disappointed (just just doooooon't forget to head back this way as well afterwards!)


So in honour of National Retro Day, I can't think of a better person to have a slice of pie with here at Nostalgia Pie than with someone who loves retro as much as I do - and has the best job in the world (see above!) All rise for Sir David of Retrohenshire!


Hello Sir David. Help yourself to a slice of pie and a drink. What are you having?



Unsplash


Right now, I’m feeling the savoury pie vibe. A nice chunky slice steak and ale pie would be nice with a cold pint of Guinness

Can't go wrong with a bit of steak and ale, I say! We’d love to know more about Sir David of Retrohenshire. Tell us a bit about yourself.


I was born in 1970 and lived in London the majority of my life. I’m the youngest of 6 (yes, growing up our house was chaos at times). I fondly remember watching TV programmes like Play School, Jackanory, Words & Pictures, Batman (with Adam West) and a host of TV adverts which I now watch again on YouTube. I remember getting my first home computer: the Commodore Vic 20 back in 1982.


I'm another one who can't stop watching those old-school ads on YouTube! What would you define as ‘your era’ and why?




Most definitely the 80s. It was a time when there was a lot of change and growing up – an era which marked the end of primary school; attending secondary school; moving onto college and then going into full time work. 80s music is my fav and I always listen to Heart 80s on the radio. I remember some cracking TV programmes: Knight Rider, Fame (I want to live forever), Top of the Pops, Dallas, Neighbours, Beadle’s About, Blind Date, Play Your Cards Right, Grange Hill…


...Falcon Crest; The Price is Right; The A-Team... I hear you! Just like me, you grew up in Harlesden, Northwest London. What are your memories of growing up there in the latter part of the last century?




The changes that were starting to take place: the closure of a lot of factories. Just down the road in Park Royal, there were once so many factories and the people from Harlesden made up a lot of the workforce. Many of these factories moved out which was a real shame. My dad worked for a massive employer in that area (Heinz) and that also went.


That's really sad. Having those factories in our area really benefitted a lot of the locals. You’ve now jumped ship and become a Northerner! How often do you visit the H-Town and what changes do you find whenever you return home?


Funnily enough, I was back in Harlesden a few weeks ago. I usually visit once every 18 months. The striking changes are how densely populated it has become and so many of the streets are permit parking only. The position of the Jubilee Clock has moved and of course the property prices have soared… there’s no way I could afford to move back!




I don't think I can either. And I'm glad you mentioned the clock - I thought it was just me! One of the things I remember about growing up in Harlesden throughout the nineties was how label-mad everyone was! I was lucky just to get Matchstick trainers as my mum did not want us growing up obsessing about designer labels (for which I thank her now but not at the time!) How image-conscious and fashion obsessed were you back then?





Ahh the nineties. I was working full-time through most of the 90s so I started splashing out on the branded clothes. I become image-conscious but not obsessed. One of my earlier purchases was a Kangol hat – I wanted to have the LL Cool J look . A very colourful Reebok tracksuit was another purchase along with some Karl Kani jeans.


Ah, who didn't own a pair of Kani jeans back then! Sadly I didn't! But my sis did indeed have a Kangol hat. You’re another nostalgia addict. All the best people are! When did you get bitten by the nostalgia bug?


Far too late to be honest: 2015! I regret getting rid of a lot of items from the 80s and 90s that at the time I thought were useless – little did I know that I’d turn into a nostalgia addict and those items would be so useful for photography to bring back memories.


Tell me about it!


Check out the second part of our interview with Sir David of Retrohenshire.


If you'd like to follow Sir David of Retrohenshire in a non-stalkerish way; check out his amazing work, say hi or purchase his book, here are his deets below:

Insta: @davidhenningham




Photos: David Henningham, Angel Noire, YouTube and Wix

Blog graphics: Angel Noire




Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page