top of page

Angel's Slice of the Pie #18: Every Night is Thriller Night With TV's Thriller!

Updated: Apr 1, 2020

And no, we're not talking about the Michael Jackson classic - as awesome as that is. Instead I'm talking about my latest addiction, Thriller: a British TV anthology series from the seventies created by Brian Clemens, which is all about, er, thrillers. Don't you just love it when a television show does exactly what it says on the tin? (Or in this case, screen!)



I love anthologies, whether it's in the form of a book or a TV series. There's a lot to be said about getting a story into a short piece of writing or a single thirty to sixty-minute long episode, and it really showcases the talents of the writers. I own copies of a few short story collections, and I thought I'd seen - or at least heard of - pretty much all the TV anthologies out there. But that was until I recently stumbled across this TV series called Thriller: a collection of self-contained episodes where - as the title of the show suggests - each story revolves around themes of murder, suspense or the supernatural. Not too disimilar to Tales of the Unexpected - but definitely longer!


Carol Lynley in If It's a Man, Hang Up (1975)

Everyone who knows me knows that I absolutely love the suspense genre, so a TV series that showed individual suspense-filled stories, brimming with mystery and intrigue was right up my street. I watched the first episode - Lady Killer (known in America as Death Policy) and I was hooked! Since then, every night has pretty much been Thriller night for me as I settle down after a long day with yet another thrilling episode. It really is gripping stuff - so well written and the acting is superb. Well OK, according to some of the reviews, the acting has been described as 'wooden' or 'over the top,' but each to their own and all that. And in any case, the slightly wooden acting fits in well with the seventies thriller genre, I think! Furthermore there's not much in the way of blood and gore - ironic considering the grisly subject matter - so it's perfect for me! Plus there's no sex or swearing which is great for my mum!


Robert Powell in Lady Killer (1973)

And if you're someone who enjoys playing spot the celeb, you won't be disappointed as there are many big name actors from the seventies in Thriller, and you'll even see some acting legends who appeared in the series before they got their big breaks. Among the who's who of famous faces, there's Robert Powell ( always be Jesus of Nazareth to me) Maureen you-got-an-ology Lipman; Jan Francis before she became just good friends with Paul Nicholas; future soap vixen Donna Mills, Sinead Cusak, Dennis Waterman, Diana Dors, Brian Blessed, Hayley Mills, Bob Hoskins, Tom Conti, Denholm Elliott and Dame Helen Mirren before she got all regal on us! And that's just some of them.



Famous faces: Maureen Lipman, Jan Francis and John Le Mesurier in File It Under Fear (1973)

I'm still working my way through the episodes and have already seen a good number of them. I have my favourites, and I have my 'that was just all right' episodes, but I'd have to say that so far my favourite seems to be episode eight of the first series, entitled File it Under Fear starring Lipman as a librarian who becomes obsessed with trying to discover the identity of a serial killer, especially after her friend becomes one of his victims. And fans have raved about Coffin For the Bride starring Mirren and claim it's a stand-out episode so I can't wait to see it. Sign It Death was also pretty good.


Dabbling with the occult in Possession (1973)

Judging by the comments from viewers, the episodes which have a supernatural theme seem to be everyone's least favourite episodes. I personally don't mind them but I do much prefer the classic crimes and murder mysteries. Though I have to say that so far, If It's a Man, Hang Up - although not a bad episode - has been my least favourite episode which is a shame because I was so looking forward to watching that one: an episode in which viewers saw a model receiving menacing, anonymous phone calls. I like a few twists and turns in a story but when there's more twists and turns than a roller coaster ride at Alton Towers then it gets a bit too much, even for me!



Proving that Thriller can be quite sweet: A sweet shop from days gone by in File It Under Fear (1973)

Most Thriller fans are likely to have either vague or very fond memories of this show. I have neither! As it's my first time watching Thriller, I obviously don't have any memories of watching it 'back in the day'-in any case it was a bit before my time when it was first broadcast ('before my time'-I love saying that! :) ) But I know a lot of people did watch it the first time round in the seventies and it still has quite a cult following. It's been fascinating reading the many reviews from people who used to watch the show with their families on a Saturday night, which I believe was its regular viewing spot back then (in Britain.)




And of course, I cannot talk about Thriller without giving a mention to the intriguing opening/closing credits - which consisted of blood-red ringed fish-eye lens shots - and of course that memorably haunting music score; both of which added to the theme of the show and the atmosphere of each individual episode. And that theme tune is never out of my head; I've even found myself humming it out loud! I thought the theme to Tales of the Unexpected was eerie and macabre but Thriller's - which features a harpsichord and flute - would waken, not to mention frighten, the dead! If the array of fantastic stories don't freak you out, then that theme tune most definitely will, so don't watch any episodes while you're alone in the dark!


I've introduced my mate Pancakes to it because she does love her mysteries. And I tried to introduce my mate MJ to Thriller as he loves old TV shows but what do you know? He only went and had the box set, didn't he! I told him off for not telling me about this amazing show much sooner but well... he's forgiven now! I don't mind admitting that I don't watch much in the way of 'modern' TV shows these days, so well-written, well-acted, quality TV shows from back in the day are a real treat for someone like me who loves a bit of vintage telly. I even enjoyed the sight and sounds of the ATV ident right before Thriller's opening credits. Pure old school!


Loved the quaint cottage in File It Under Fear (1973)


Thriller makes for tense, edge-of-your seat viewing (and OK, some have said humorous viewing!) But one of the things that I like about this series - especially the episodes that are almost exclusively filmed within the confines of a studio set - is that it gives you that feeling of watching a play at your local theatre, something that I've found with a lot of 1970s television. I marvelled at the plush sets, the idyllic surroundings, the decor, and even the fab seventies fashion and hairdos - even if some people do find them a bit kitsch! The seventies generation might just appreciate this wander down memory lane and enjoy the simplicity of television from way back when.


As I've said many times before - they don't make 'em like that anymore!




Photos from YouTube

Word cloud by Angel Noire


375 views2 comments
bottom of page