top of page

Angel's Slice of the Pie #22: This Ol' House!

Updated: Jun 2, 2021

Everyone who knows me that I have a special affinity with the seventies. I love so much about that decade. But admittedly the seventies wood panelling in certain rooms in my house might be a bit much even for me!



The previous owners had painted over the wood-panelled walls in the dining room, but in my kitchen, the seventies is very much alive and well, and it really does make the place look dated - and not necessarily in a good way. It's left me with something of a dilemma because on the one hand, as much as I love the seventies, I don't feel the full-on wood panel look is really me. But on the other, I feel as though I need to keep it as it is because of well, that seventies vibe!


The painted over version!

There's also a bit of nostalgia in the sense that it reminds me of my grandfather's home, where he had a wood-panelled section in the living room. The difference was that his seemed to be a more natural looking wood and it looked a lot better than the faux wood panels that I have here. He used to pin his Christmas cards to that section every year, so whenever I see a wood-panelled wall, it reminds me of my grandfather, his home and my childhood.


So the panels shall stay until we make up our minds about what we want to do. But it did get me thinking about houses in the 1970s and common key elements in terms of furniture and décor that existed around that time. Check out our upcoming post That Seventies' House to see what no home in the 1970s was complete without.



Photos and word cloud: Angel Noire

bottom of page