top of page

Retro Movie Quotes... For the Modern-Day Audience!



Ever wondered how your favorite quotes from retro movies might have sounded if they had a modern, British slant? Well I can't say I've given it much thought myself, and frankly my dear, maybe you don't give a bloomin' fig yourself! But a social media post by Very British Problems in which followers were invited to alter a classic movie quote so that it sounded very British, did get me thinking. As a Brit girl myself, I found the results to be hilarious - and I realised - not that I needed reminding - of how much I miss the British vernacular. The most ordinary of phrases can sound so much funnier with a bit of British street talk thrown in!


So we thought we'd give it a go ourselves and created this quiz; selecting some well-known and fairly well-known (come on - we didn't want to make it too easy for you!) quotes from classic movies from the sixties to nineties, and modifying them so that they not only had that British sense of over-politeness or the cheeky humour we're known for but a modern twist as well. Because we're just sooo twenty-first century round here in case you didn't know!




See if you can guess what the original quotes were and which classic movie they came from.



ANSWERS BELOW (NO PEEKING!)


But don't worry if you didn't get them all correct because this quiz is just for fun. Sadly there are no cash prizes or the chance for you to win a family car. But on the plus side, you don't have to send in your answers on a postcard either.



So how many did you get right?


And if you're after more quizzes, there'll be a similar one posted on our sister site, An Extra Slice, where we'll be testing your knowledge on classic quotes from movies of the 1920s-50s.


Here's looking at you, fam!


GIF: Wix

Photo: YouTube

Blog graphics: Angel Noire





17 views10 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page