top of page

The Hip Hop Avengers: Super Bowl Halftime Show 2022

Updated: Apr 24, 2023



As Super Bowl 2023 gets underway tonight, American football fans the world over will be waiting to see who will come out on top: the Kansas City Chiefs or the Philadelphia Eagles. Then you'll get the people like me who are just there for the halftime entertainment show! This year the honour goes to Rhianna and no doubt she'll an amazing show. But the halftime show from last year is still in my mind, and it was the best Super bowl halftime show I'd see in a long time... And never did I think I'd get all emotional during the Super Bowl!




While the man eagerly awaits the Super Bowl every year regardless of whether his team's playing or not (they never are but let's not talk about that!) for me it's all about the halftime show. Naturally my favourite will always be the New Kids' performance back in 1991 (Come on, I'm a Blockhead!) But last year's halftime show was beyond awesome! The mini concert was performed by legendary hip hop icons, with the show being opened by superstars Dr. Dre and Snoop Dogg, with performances by 50 Cent; Mary J. Blige; Kendrick Lamar and Eminem. It was the stuff hip hop dreams are made off.




My friends and I watched it constantly for weeks afterwards and we couldn't stop talking about it. If only you all could've heard the WhatsApp chats - anyone would have thought we were managers for Dre, Snoop and Co. Although we loved the performance, we all talked in depth about what could have been done differently, what could have been added, and whether any more acts could have and should have been added to the lineup. And I don't mind admitting - we all got a bit emotional watching it...





Why? Because it took us back. Way back! Last year's halftime show reminded us of our teen years; our uni days; those endless house parties; clubbing it up like there was no tomorrow... And all the excuses we'd frantically be trying to come up with on the way home to explain why we'd come home five hours later than we said we would! 😕 As we know only too well here, nostalgia is indeed a very powerful force and the closest thing we have to a time machine. I defy anyone of my generation who was heavily into hip hop and RnB at that time to watch that performance and not feel moved; to not remember the people who are now part of a very distant past; to not remember a different time and a very different you. And to focus on a time when music was generally a hell of a lot better than it is now! Looking at the music scene now, it's hard to determine who will go on to claim iconic status like Dre, Snoop, Eminem, Miss Mary J, Fiddy, and Kendrick.


The soundtrack to my youth indeed. And while I've no doubt that Rhianna will knock it out of the park, or in this case kick it off the field, for me there'll never be another Super Bowl halftime show like it. 💖🎼🎵🎶🎤💖





Photos: Youtube

GIFs: Wix

Blog graphics: Angel Noire




bottom of page